top of page
  • alanr

French cities to ban diesels

Low Emission Zones (EPZ) are gradually becoming law in France and by 2025 all towns & cities with over 150,000 inhabitants will have an emission zone banning diesels as a priority. However these controls will vary from city to city:


The 79 municipalities within the A86 motorway ring, have set up an EPZ in progressive stages. It started in July 2019 by banning old diesels from before 2001 (Crit'Air 5), then in January 2021 for the Crit'Air 4 (diesels before 2006) then on July 1, 2022 for the Crit'Air 3 (before 2011). These prohibitions are applicable from Monday to Friday, 8 am to 8 pm. The next jump will be on January 1, 2024, when Crit'Air 2 will also be banned, namely all diesels (and petrol engines before 2011). In 2030, the metropolis plans to exclude all 'non-clean' vehicles.


The Lyon ZFE began in 2020 for goods vehicles only, with Crit'Air 4 and 5. The perimeter includes the entire city, as well as the municipalities of Villeurbanne and Caluire-et-Cuire. On January 1, 2021 it was the turn of pre-2011 diesels (Crit'Air 3) to be banned. The municipality plans to ban all diesel vehicles from before 2001 (Crit'Air 5) on July 1, 2022, followed by all diesels by 2026 (Crit'Air 2 and less), and to enlarge the ZFE.

Grenoble is ahead of Lyon , whose ZFE was created in May 2019 when it banned Crit'Air 5 goods vehicles, before banning Crit'Air 4 from July 1, 2020. These measures will prohibit Crit'Air 3 on July 1, 2022 and Crit'Air 2, (i.e. all diesels) on July 1, 2025 .


Toulouse started with Crit'Air 5 goods excluded in 2021, then Crit'Air 4 in 2022. Diesel vehicles from before 2006 will no longer be able to access the ZFE in 2023, and those before 2011 in 2024. No decision, however, on the total ban on diesel.

In Rouen, the ZFE is at present limited to the city centre but will increase to all the metropolis in 2022 (except Saint-Étienne-du-Rouvray, Maromme and Déville), but only for Crit'Air 4 commercial vehicles. It will also prohibit private diesels from before 2011 on July 1, 2022.


Crit'Air 5 (diesel before 2001) will still be authorized in 2022, but will be banned in 2024 & will permanently ban Crit'Air 4, then in 2025 will include Crit'Air 3. The complete ban on all diesels will be in 2028-2029 .


Unveiled in September, the ZFE for Bordeaux is still not confirmed, but would include the entire ring road of the A630 / N230 containing 13 other towns including Pessac, Bègles, Talence & Mérignac. The plan will start at least with the Crit'Air 5 (diesels from before 2001).


Scheduled for 2021 but delayed by one year, the Lille ZFE is still not officially adopted. The project brings together 11 municipalities in the Lille metropolitan area and plans to ban diesels from before 2006 (Crit'Air 4 and 5). Lille has yet to decide on a longer term agenda for all diesels.


Marseille EPZ should begin in 2022 . Toulon, which announced an EPZ in 2019 will have to wait until at least 2023 to define the extent of the regulations.


Nice still does not have an EPZ, despite previous announcements by the mayor.

501 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page